Home 2017-08-11T23:53:06+00:00

What People Are Saying About White Plains: 

“Beautifully and honestly wrought, White Plains by David Hicks is a stunning portrayal of one man’s journey to redemption and transformation. Woven through many voices, and tragedies both personal and global, this is ultimately a story of kindness and forgiveness despite the misfirings of our ever-yearning human hearts. A gorgeous and unforgettable debut.”
Kathy Fish, author of Wild Life
“For the single man, in this case dear Flynn in White Plains, it can be a rocky road to climb toward grace; and David Hicks shows us every glorious bump on the way I found myself groaning at each of Flynn’s stumbles, but always hoping for him (especially as he assembles himself as a parent) in this glowing set of stories, a book that reads like late night messages sent from a friend. This is an honest look at a man moving from punishing bad faith toward something he finally hopes is good.”
Ron Carlson, author of The Signal
“White Plains follows the trajectory of a man’s life, from the giddiness of youth with all its promise to the midlife realization of a life not fully lived, but, thankfully, the book does not end there: it shows us how a life can be rebuilt. This book is every single thing I want when I read: compassionate, hopeful, and beautifully written. David Hicks is a first-rate storyteller.”
Lori Ostlund, author of After the Parade
“What happens when a man risks everything in search of a real home and big love? David Hicks shares the answer in White Plains, a thrilling and thoughtful take on what it means to live life to the fullest.”
Sophfronia Scott, author of Unforgivable Love
“In David Hicks’s captivating debut, an English professor realizes he can no longer stand to live a life of quiet desperation. Comic and tender by turns, White Plains is a big-hearted novel about awakening—and reawakening—to love.”
Leni Zumas, author of Red Clocks
ORDER
LEARN MORE

WELCOME TO THE WEBSITE OF

David Hicks

David is the author of the debut novel, White Plains, which will be published by Conundrum Press in 2017. Excerpts from the novel have been published as short stories in Glimmer Train, Colorado Review, Specs, Saranac Review, and South Dakota Review, along with other stellar journals.

David lives in Colorado with his wife, the poet Cynthia Kolanowski, with children Stephen and Caitlin nearby, and is a professor at Regis University, where he also co-directs the Mile-High MFA program. He is represented by Victoria Skurnick of the Levine Greenberg Rostan Literary Agency.

MORE ABOUT DAVID
To receive monthly updates on David’s upcoming book tour and publications, join his newsletter at the bottom of this page. And to request a reading, or a visit to your classroom or book club, go to Contact.

ADVANCE PRAISE FOR WHITE PLAINS

“What happens when a man risks everything in search of a real home and big love? David Hicks shares the answer in White Plains, a thrilling and thoughtful take on what it means to live life to the fullest.”
Sophfronia Scott, author of Unforgivable Love
“In David Hicks’s captivating debut, an English professor realizes he can no longer stand to live a life of quiet desperation. Comic and tender by turns, White Plains is a big-hearted novel about awakening—and reawakening—to love.”
Leni Zumas, author of Red Clocks
“…a book that reads like late night messages sent from a friend. This is an honest look at a man moving from punishing bad faith toward something he finally hopes is good.”
Ron Carlson, author of The Signal

“He shivered violently, noting the water’s depth, its darkness. But he kept going, with smooth, careful breast strokes, the icy water bathing his body. He imagined the cells of his skin hydrating and awakening.”

WHITE PLAINS

LATEST ARTICLES FROM

The Author’s Blog

In Omaggio a Mamma

Yesterday I was driving with Cynthia, trying to figure out whether the temperature gauge on the car was called a thermometer or a thermostat, and [...]

White Plains

A NOVEL IN STORIES

White Plains is available to order. To keep up with news about David’s debut novel and the dates and locations of his book tour, join his newsletter at the bottom of this page.

ORDER CONUNDRUM PRESS
ORDER ON AMAZON
ORDER ON INDIE-BOUND
“On first glance, David Hicks’ witty and melancholy White Plains is a novel of the academic life, in the tradition of Lodge, Amis and McCarthy, and it deserves a place in that most excellent tradition. But White Plains exceeds this subgenre and rewards us with dynamic shifts in point of view that reveal an unsparing and original look at aging through a literary life and events that seem to have a mind of their own. Hicks writes spot on spots of time covering thirty years: St. Marks, Shea Stadium, Creede, Colorado. . . . momentary stays against confusion and concentric circles of diminishing expectations. With characteristic and devastating restraint, we’re asked, “How many chances does a man get [does anyone get] to set his life straight.” The answer: read this extraordinary novel. ”
David Lazar, author of I'll Be Your Mirror: Essays and Aphor